Short Cut to Europe

 
Yesterday my son and I assisted to the open house day of European embassies in Washington DC, called “Short Cut to Europe” and it was really great. I was so proud to have my little European flag and a blue balloon to celebrate the 10th anniversary of this annual event.
We visited four embassies of countries that entered the European Union quite recently: Romania, Estonia, Bulgaria and Slovenia. In these four embassies, people were very nice and so happy to show to the world the cultural and touristic aspects of their country. The strenghth of Europe is its diversity, with no doubt.

We enjoyed food (cheese bricks, yogurt, sausages, cinammon cakes…), wine (I really recommend the Slovenian white wine) and it was a nice flash-back for me to remember of Slovenia and its beautiful lakes (I visited Slovenia three years ago, when my wife was expecting Paul). We also attended outdoor events such as the Irish dancers show (the atmosphere was really great).

Overall, I was so happy to see that Europe could attract so many American visitors, it shows that the transatlantic relationships are deep and friendly.

Last but not least, the Kalorama neighborhood is beautiful, with lots of historic houses. 

Leave a comment