Sculpture Garden


The Sculpture Garden is part of the National Gallery of Art. It is an outdoor garden and contains several large-scale sculptures of very high interest: Miro, Louise Bourgeois, Calder…

The picture above shows a giant typewriter eraser, made by Oldenburg and van Bruggen in 1999. I love its shape, colors and size.

I also like the reproduction of the entrance of the Parisian metro by Hector Guimard, it makes me feel at home 😉 All the entrances of the metro in the center of Paris are on the same model, and they are really beautiful.

The giant eraser makes me think of the giant ballpoint pen in the hilarious play “Théâtre sans animaux” of Jean-Michel Ribes. This pen symbolizes the absurdity of modern art in general. I don’t know if this play has been adapted in English, but it should.

Théâtre sans animaux – Jean-Michel Ribes: cocasse autopsie de nos absurdités

Leave a comment